Summer Edition 2017

We welcome you to the Summer 2017 edition of our newsletter. We are pleased to share with you our achievements and our development as a translation vendor.

To start, go to the dropdown menu and choose the section you wish.



At the beginning of the French revolution, it is estimated that only one quarter of the population spoke French. In 1958, the French Constitution of the Fifth Republic guaranteed cooperation among those who shared French as a common language and, since the Constitutional Amendment Act was passed in 1992, French became the "language of the Republic".

There are more than three hundred dialects and languages in France

Specifically, there are 363 different dialects and languages throughout France, and they can be grouped into large regions:

Threatened languages

In order to preserve its rich heritage, France has incorporated some of the local languages into the public education system. Therefore, since 1951, the Deixonne Act has authorised the optional teaching of these regional languages in France. The first four languages to receive the corresponding authorisation were Basque, Breton, Catalan and Occitan. Later, Corsican, Tahitian, and four Oceanic languages were added to the list, followed by Gallo, Lorraine Franconian and Alsatian from 2006.

Due to the fast development of our culture, these languages are disappearing. Despite the fact that the majority of such languages have been classified as being seriously endangered and that France recognises that they are part of the country's heritage, they lack official status and recognition in legislation. In fact, the only languages that are not considered to be endangered are those used in border areas, which are protected in other countries, such as the case of Catalan and Flemish.